My Favorite Guacamole

Ok, so I know this isn’t the best picture, but I hope it’s enough to make you salivate for this tasty treat!  (We had already started to dip into this when I remembered I needed a photo… Oops!)  This recipe is from Darin Molnar and he gets a request to make it EVERY (that is not an exaggeration) weekend.  When I have this beautiful green dip sitting in front of me, there is a good chance I will be full by the time dinner is ready.  Once I have a bite, I can’t help myself, the Guacamole Monster takes over and I can’t stop eating it!

Guacamole

3 large, ripe avocados

Juice of 1-2 limes

4 green onions, chopped, white part only (but save the green stems for garnish!)

1/4-1/2  jalapeno, chopped (depending on how spicy you like it)

salt and white pepper to taste (Darin say’s the white pepper is key and is his secret ingredient…so this is just between us.  Don’t tell anybody! LOL)

1 bunch cilantro

1 tomato, chopped

remaining green onion stems

Combine avocados, lime juice, and green onions in a food processor or blender and process until smooth.  Add jalapeno, salt, and pepper and blend again.  Place in a serving bowl and top with cilantro, tomato, and the green parts of the green onion.  Serve with chips, on tacos, over eggs, or use as a condiment on deli meat sandwiches!

Tip:

Avocados are known to oxidize and turn brown.  The lime juice in this recipe needs to be added to the avocados right after cutting to keep the bright green color.  This recipe is not designed to keep and look pretty in the fridge.  It will taste fine, but will turn brown with time.  If you wish to keep this in the fridge for a couple of days, add a little sour cream to the recipe before refrigerating, it will keep longer this way.

Published in: on April 17, 2011 at 9:05 AM  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sweetkd.wordpress.com/2011/04/17/my-favorite-guacamole/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Mmmmm had this on top of the black bean enchiladas I had for lunch today. It was GOOD!! 🙂 I didn’t even need the sour cream on my enchilada, but piled on the guac 🙂

  2. This is one of my favorite foods. I am totally addicted! LOL I love it with the Lime flavored Tostito chips. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the recipe! I love how easy it is to make. This guacamole does not last long at my house. Between me and the neighbors if you it goes fast!

  3. Oh girl, I love a good batch of guacamole. I haven’t made one in a very long time but I love your recipe and you know I am going to have to try this. Love it.

    • This is my all time favorite guacamole recipe. It’s simple and the flavors really come through. I really love avocado so I love that the flavor really shines in this recipe. 🙂 Let me know what you think when you make it!


Leave a Reply

