Fiesta Hollandaise

So, I woke up this morning wanting something a little more bold in flavors.  I happen to have some green chilies and green onions left from last nights dinner creation. Being one to not throw things like that out I considered making scrambled eggs or an omelet to satisfy my morning hunger.  The trouble is what I REALLY wanted was Eggs Benedict.  So, I thought hmmmm….. what about adding some extra kicked up flavor to the Hollandaise…and I did, with fantastic results!  This Hollandaise turned out so well that I am adding it to my recipe collection under the heading “Must Make Often”.  The combination of the nutty flavor from the wheat bread, the soft cooked eggs with oozing yolk, the lemony goodness of the Hollandaise with the fresh and spicy flavors from the onions and chilies was a definite hit.  I will be making this again – really soon.

Fiesta Hollandaise

3 egg yolks

1 Tbsp. lemon juice

1/2 C. cold, unsalted butter cut into 10-12 slices

2 Tbsp. fire roasted, diced green chilies (from a can, save the rest for another dish)

2 green onions, chopped

In a small sauce pan combine egg yolks and lemon juice with half of the cold butter.  With a whisk over low heat, melt the butter (don’t stop whisking!  We aren’t making scrambled eggs here!).  Slowly add one “pat” of butter at a time until all the butter is melted, then add chilies and onions.  Taste and season with salt and pepper as needed.

Tips:

This recipe is GREAT on scrambled egg burritos, chicken, and egg dishes.  I am now thinking I need to try Deviled Eggs with chilies and green onions as well… Oh!  How about egg salad on bagels with green onions, chilies and tomatoes….  Something tells me I better get back to the kitchen!  😉

Happy Eating!

Published in: on April 21, 2011 at 9:51 AM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sweetkd.wordpress.com/2011/04/21/fiesta-hollandaise/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

