Turkey Meatloaf with Apple

Good food does not have to be bad for you.  My neighborhood is something special and my neighbors are my taste testers.  Currently we are all trying to eat a little more healthy during the week; because on the weekends we are bad, bad, bad!  Weekends in my neighborhood produce some of the most delicious, amazing, wonderful food you could ever eat, and LOTS of it!  We all eat a little too much and enjoy each others company into the wee hours of the morning.  Anyway… enough about the neighbors.  I will be introducing you to them and some of the recipes they have so graciously agreed to share, later.  Right now, its meatloaf.  I created this recipe as a lighter version of traditional meatloaf.  I also added a few surprise ingredients that boost the nutritional value a little bit.  My neighbor, Anna, when I brought samples around for everyone to try before sharing this recipe with all of you said “It’s really good!  It shouldn’t be, but it is!”  I love Anna, she will always say it like it is.  I hope you will give this flavorful, and healthier meatloaf a try, and feel free to leave comments of your own letting me know what you think!

Turkey Meatloaf with Apple

1 LB ground pork

1 LB ground turkey

1 egg, whisked

3/4 C. old fashioned oats (do not use the quick cooking variety!!)

1 small onion, diced

1 apple, diced

1-2 carrots (depending on the size), diced

2 stalks celery, diced

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp.cinnamon

1 tsp. nutmeg

1 tsp. sage

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 tsp. thyme

1/2 tsp. pepper

Preheat oven to 350*

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix gently by hand until all ingredients are incorporated.  Shape into a loaf and place on a baking sheet (I use parchment paper for easy cleanup.  I use a baking sheet rather than a bread pan so that the grease will drain away from the meat).  Bake for 1 hour, or until juices run clear and meat is cooked through.

Topping

1 C. ketchup

1/2 Tbsp. Worcestershire Sauce

Mix and place on top of meatloaf the last 20 minutes of cooking

Published in: on April 28, 2011 at 8:39 AM  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sweetkd.wordpress.com/2011/04/28/turkey-meatloaf-with-apple/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s so cool that you have a great support system in your neighbors. I love making Turkey meatloaf rather than making it with ground beef. This is definitely a delicious recipe. Great job as always 🙂

    • I should have made a double batch to test how well it would hold up to freeze and reheat. LOL Finals… blah. I NEED/WANT to get back in the kitchen! Thank you for stopping in. I always value your input on the recipes. 🙂

  2. Well done Tonya.

    ~ Erik (of should I say, Kevin?) LOL!

    • Thank you Erik! =) (Or Kevin…either way…) LOL


Leave a Reply

